The Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is based on four overarching principles –

A Unique Child – Every child is constantly learning from birth and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

Positive Relationships – Enabling children to be strong and independent from a base of secure relationships.

Enabling Environments – The environment plays an essential role in children’s learning and development, particularly when there is a strong relationship between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

Learning and Developing – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.


In the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development including three ‘prime’ areas and four ‘specific’ areas.

Prime areas are:

Understanding of the world
Communication and Language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas are:


Here at St Ippolyts School, we believe in bringing learning to life in Reception through lots of real life experiences, role play and active learning, including learning outside in our Reception garden area.

Click here to download our Early Years policy